The 2022 National NAIDOC Awards

The National NAIDOC Awards is an annual celebration of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander achievement by individuals and communities from across the country.

After a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we were thrilled to be able to produce the event, in Naarm (Melbourne) in July 2022, working in partnership with the National NAIDOC Committee, the National Indigenous Australian’s Agency and NITV/SBS.

The Awards recognise the unwavering efforts of individuals who work tirelessly, often on a voluntary basis, to improve the quality of life in their communities; the excellence of individuals in their chosen field; and the hard work of individuals to promote First Nations issues in the Australian community.

We acknowledge and thank the Traditional Owners on which the 2022 Awards night was held – the Boon Wurrung and Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin nation.

The show

The 2022 National NAIDOC theme ‘Get up! Stand Up! Show Up!’ provided a powerful and thought-provoking backdrop to the production of the pinnacle event.

Hosted by Steven Oliver and Shelley Ware, the evening commenced with a warm Welcome to Country from Aunty Joy Murphy-Wandin including a call to country from Chenille Chandler, a smoking ceremony and a performance by the Djirri Djirri Dance Group.

33creative 33creative 33creative

The Winners

Congratulations to all the Winners in this years awards.

Dr Stan Grant Snr – 2022 National NAIDOC Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Uncle Jack Charles – 2022 National NAIDOC Male Elder Award winner, Dr Lois Peeler AM – 2022 National NAIDOC Female Elder Award winner, Walter Jackson – 2022 National NAIDOC Caring for Country and Culture Award winner, Lance ‘Buddy’ Franklin – 2022 National NAIDOC Sportsperson Award winner, Lowell Hunter – 2022 National NAIDOC Creative Talent Award winner, Professor Bronwyn Fredericks – 2022 National NAIDOC Education Award winner, Elijah Manis – 2022 National NAIDOC Youth Award winner, Koori Mail – 2022 National NAIDOC Innovation Award winner, Ash Barty  – 2022 National NAIDOC Person Award winner.

Image of 2022 National NAIDOC Award winners.

The Entertainment

Bespoke performances were choreographed to promote the theme including ‘Rise Up’ performed by Jess Hitchcock with Evie Ferris, Moeyoengu Koekaperr Saibai Islander Dance team from the Torres Strait, ‘Faboriginal’ by Steven Oliver, ‘Freedom’ by Mau Power, ‘Galinga’ by Eric Avery, Emma Donovan and The Putbacks, Cerulean and DJ Ebsta.

33creative 33creative 33creative 33creative

Supporting First Nations designers and businesses

We worked with local Victorian artist Lyn-Al Young a Gunnai, Wiradjuri, Gunditjmara and Yorta Yorta fashion designer and artist based in Melbourne, to develop an artwork inspired by the theme bringing the room and broadcast to life. Lyn-Al’s artwork was featured across all elements of the event, from program, venue dressing, media walls, staging, certificates, place cards, accreditation passes, winners’ cards, sponsor table signs and signage.

“When we come together as a mob in unity, our voices become stronger.” Lyn Al Young

We are proud to have also featured multiple Indigenous fashion and jewellery designers, who loaned their creations for talent to wear at the National NAIDOC Awards, including MAARA Australia, Forever Young Jewellery, Haus of Dizzy, Koori Circle and Jarawee.

The wonderful team at Alchemy Orange, a First Nations owned and operated floral design company, helped to develop a modern design for floral installations and centrepieces that showcased local florals and foliage in the room.

2022 National NAIDOC logo and visual creative developed in partnership with artist Lyn-Al Young.